

Coral paleozoogeography in the Devonian and Carboniferous of Eurasia

Victor N. Dubatolov and Nina P. Vassiljuk Acta Palaeontologica Polonica 25 (3-4), 1980: 519-529

Eight provinces of coral distribution were established in the Early Devonian of Eurasia and Australia: Mediterranean, Maghrebian, Uralo-Tien-Shan, Altai-Sayan, Dzhungar-Balkhash, Indo-Sinian, East-Australian, Mongolo-Okhotsk and Indlgiro-Kolymian. In the Middle Devonian large transgression caused enlargement of the provinces. As a result there appear such provinces as: Mediterranean, Uralo-North Asiatic, Mongolo-Okhotsk, Sino-Australian. Each province includes several zoogeographic areas. There are 4 regions (European, South Asian, Australian and North American) with 15 provinces in paleozoogeographical zonation of the Lower Carboniferous (Visean) paleobasins and 3 regions (Ural-Arctic, Mediterranean, North American) with 7 provinces in the Late Carboniferous (Moscovian) paleobasins.

Key words: Corals, Tabulata, Rugosa, Devonian, Carboniferous, coral paleoprovinces, Eurasia.

This is an open-access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (for details please see <u>creativecommons.org</u>), which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original author and source are credited.

Full text (889.2 kB)